World Biodiversity Forum – 2020

Join us for the World Biodiversity Forum 2020, taking place the 23 – 28 February in Davos, and explore the future of biodiversity. 

Meet our plenary speakers

We are very fortunate to welcome an amazing array of plenary speakers, covering a broad range of disciplines and expertise. Our speakers are:

  • Emma Archer University of Pretoria
  • Eduardo S. Brondizio Indiana University Bloomington
  • Odette Curtis Overberg Renosterveld Conservation Trust
  • Sandra M. Dìaz Cordoba National University
  • Benis Egoh University of California Irvine
  • Lenore Fahrig Carleton University Ottawa
  • Workineh Kelbessa Addis Ababa University
  • Andrew Light George Mason University & World Resources Institute
  • Markku Oksanen University of Turku
  • Unai Pascual Basque Centre for Climate Change
  • Pragati Sahni University of Delhi
  • Fabio Rubio Scarano Federal University of Rio de Janeiro
  • Rashid Sumaila University of British Columbia
  • Jens-Christian Svenning Aarhus University
  • Gary Varner Texas A&M University
  • Emily Yeh University of Colorado Boulder
  • Barend Erasmus University of Witwatersrand
  • Andy Purvis Natural History Museum London
  • David Tilman University of Minnesota
  • Greg Asner Arizona State University
Sessions, Workshops and Events

We have received high quality proposals for sessions and workshops. Those that we were able to accept cov­er a di­ver­si­ty of per­spec­tives and vi­sions and ad­dress cur­rent top­ics in nov­el ways. We are pleased to announce 30 the­mat­ic ses­sions that bring to­geth­er re­searchers and prac­ti­tion­ers from a va­ri­ety of disciplines. In­ter­ac­tive work­shops of­fer the op­por­tu­ni­ty to dis­cuss cur­rent top­ics in more de­tail and to interact in-depth with oth­er Fo­rum par­tic­i­pants. Lunchtime debates and events complete the programme.

Kind regards
Cornelia Krug,
on behalf of the Scientific Organisation Committee of the World Biodiversity Forum:
Michael Schaepman, Jeannine Cavender-Bares, Lynne Shannon,
Anna Deplazes-Zemp, Gabriela Schaepman-Strub, Maria Joao Santos, Owen Petchey,
Rees Kassen, Craig Starger, Eva Spehn and Debra Zuppinger-Dingley