RMA Fellow and Past President Professor John Hearne presenting Marie-Hélène Durand with the Lamberson Medal.

The laureate of the Rollie Lamberson prize for 2018 is Marie-Hélène Durand (UMR GRED – IRD, France), for the paper “Agroecological transition: a viability model to assess soil restoration”. Published with her collaborators Anna Desilles, Patrick Saint-Pierre, Valérie Angeon and Harry Ozier-Lafontaine in NRM on 17 Aug 2017, the paper uses viability theory to propose a dynamic model of agricultural practices that can restore soil quality in the long term whilst accommodating a set of agronomic and economic constraints.